You have landed on a page of the archived Cochrane Community website. This site is not being maintained or updated.

If you are looking for Cochrane Review evidence, please visit Cochrane’s evidence page.

If you are a Cochrane contributor looking for Community resources, please visit the new Cochrane Community website.

Cochrane’s funders

We do not accept commercial or conflicted funding – this is vital for us to generate authoritative and reliable information, produced by people who can work freely, unconstrained by commercial and financial interests.

Cochrane’s funding model reflects the international and dispersed nature of the organisation. While our core income (income paid directly to Cochrane and used to sustain its information management system, research programmes, website etc) comes principally from the proceeds of The Cochrane Library and other Cochrane products, our groups are supported by national governments, international governmental and non-governmental organisations, universities, hospitals, private foundations, and personal donations. They are not permitted to accept funding from commercial organisations such as pharmaceutical companies. This is to ensure that the conclusions of Cochrane Reviews are not influenced by commercial interests.

Read more about our policy on commercial sponsorship here.

Cochrane wishes to thank the following for their support:

  • Academic Medical Center (Netherlands)
  • Agencias de Evaluación de Tecnologías Sanitarias/Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (Catalan Agency for Health Information, Assessment and Quality; Andalusian Agency for Health Technology Assessment; Aragon Institute of Health Sciences) (Spain)
  • Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (Canada)
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) (USA)
  • Agenzia Italiana del Farmaco/Italian Medicines Agency (Italy)
  • Agenzia Nazionle Per Servizi Sanitari Regionali/National Agency for Regional Health Services (Italy)
  • Arbejdstilsynet/Danish Working Environment Research Fund (Denmark)
  • Assistance Publique, Hopitaux de Paris (France)
  • Bruce Shepherd (Private donor)
  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung/Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Germany)
  • Bundesministerium für Gesundheit/Federal Ministry of Health (Germany)
  • Cabrini Institute (Australia)
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research (Canada)
  • Chief Scientist Office (Scotland)
  • Cochrane Collaboration
  • Danish Medical Research Council (Denmark)
  • David Cargill Trust (UK)
  • Den danske regering /Danish Government (Denmark)
  • Department for International Development (UK)
  • Department of Health and Ageing (Australia)
  • Department of Health Victoria (Australia)
  • Deutsche Krebshilfe e.V. (Germany)
  • European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Programme
  • European Union
  • Familien Hede Nielsens Fond (Denmark)
  • Federal Government of Belgium, Ministery of Health (Belgium)
  • Federal Ministry of Education (Nigeria)
  • Finnish Institute of Occupational Health (Finland)
  • Flanders Care (Belgium)
  • Fondazione Italiana Sclerosi Multipla/Italian Multiple Sclerosis Foundation (Italy)
  • George Mason University (USA)
  • Grad Split/City of Split (Croatia)
  • Health Foundation (UK)
  • Health Research Board (Ireland)
  • HSC Research and Development (Northern Ireland)
  • Indian Council for Medical Research (India)
  • Institute for Work and Health (Canada)
  • Instituto de Salud Carlos III (Spain)
  • Istituto Superiore di Sanità/National Institute of Health (Italy)
  • James Lind Alliance (UK)
  • Korea Health Industry Development Institute (Republic of Korea)
  • Korea University (Republic of Korea)
  • Land Niederösterreich/State Government of Lower Austria (Austria)
  • MDS Foundation (Portugal)
  • Ministarstvo obrazovanja, znanosti i sporta/Ministry of Education, Science and Sports (Croatia)
  • Ministère des affaires sociales et de la santé / Ministry of Social Affairs and Health (France)
  • Ministério da Saúde/Ministry of Health (Brazil)
  • Ministero della Salute/Italian Health Ministry (Italy)
  • Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (Japan)
  • Motor Neurone Disease Association (UK)
  • Muscular Dystrophy Campaign (UK)
  • Nasjonalt Kunnskapssenter for Helsetjenester / Norwegian Knowledge Centre for the Health Services (Norway)
  • National Health and Medical Research Council (Australia)
  • National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) (UK)
  • National Institutes of Health, Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) (USA)
  • National Institutes of Health, National Eye Institute (NEI) (USA)
  • National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) (USA)
  • National Library of Medicine (USA)
  • National Research Foundation of Korea (Republic of Korea)
  • New Zealand Guidelines Group (New Zealand)
  • New Zealand Ministry of Health (New Zealand)
  • Niederösterreich Gesundheits und Sozialfonds / Health and Social Funds, Lower Austria (Austria)
  • Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norway)
  • Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation
  • Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (Canada)
  • Plymouth University (UK)
  • Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (Chile)
  • Rigshospitalet/Copenhagen Hospital Corporation (Denmark)
  • Sanita Regione Umbria/Region of Umbria, Health Authority (Italy)
  • Società Italiana di Neurologia/Association for Epidemiology Research for Neurological Diseases (Italy)
  • Société Française de Médecine d'Urgence/French Society of Emergency Physicians (France)
  • South African Medical Research Council (South Africa)
  • Sveučilište u Splitu/University of Split, School of Medicine (Croatia)
  • Sydney and South Western Local Health Networks, Community Paediatrics Early Years Research Group (Australia)
  • Uniklinik Köln (Germany)
  • United Academic Departments of Primary Care, Dutch College of GPs, Netherlands Institute for Health Services Research (Netherlands)
  • Univeristy of Warwick (UK)
  • Universidad Nacional de Colombia / National University of Colombia (Colombia)
  • Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (Peru)
  • Universidad Tecnológica Equinoccial (Ecuador)
  • Universidade Federal de São Paulo (Brazil)
  • Università degli Studi di Firenze/University of Florence, Faculty of Medicine (Italy)
  • Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia (Italy)
  • University of Adelaide (Australia)
  • University of Auckland (New Zealand)
  • University of Oxford, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine (UK)
  • University of Sydney (Australia)
  • Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (Australia)
  • Wiley-Blackwell
  • WorkSafe BC (Canada)
  • World Health Organization
Updated on: December 5, 2013, 17:10

Comments for improvement or correction are welcome.