You have landed on a page of the archived Cochrane Community website. This site is not being maintained or updated.

If you are looking for Cochrane Review evidence, please visit Cochrane’s evidence page.

If you are a Cochrane contributor looking for Community resources, please visit the new Cochrane Community website.

Databases offering online access to medical evidence

This selection of resources does not aim to be comprehensive, but it is updated regularly. Suggestions and feedback are welcome at techsupport@cochrane.org.


Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) at the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services : summaries of evidence, clinical guidelines and more; free

ARIF Reviews Database from the Aggressive Research Intelligence Facility at the University of Birmingham, UK : systematic reviews; free

Best Health from the BMJ Evidence Centre : information for patients; fee-based 

Best Practice from the BMJ Evidence Centre : clinical assessment tool for practitioners; fee-based 

Clinical Evidence from the BMJ Evidence Centre : summaries of evidence; for medical professionals; fee-based 

Clinical Knowledge Summaries (from NHS Evidence) : evidence summaries; downloadable leaflets for patients, podcasts; for medical professionals ; free

The Cochrane Library from Cochrane : systematic reviews; fee-based or free online access through funded provisions

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (UK) : synopses of syntheses of evidence; free

DynaMed from Ebsco : summaries of evidence; for medical professionals; fee-based

EBM Guidelines from Wiley : practice guidelines and evidence summaries; for medical professionals, fee-based 

Effective Older People Care (beta) from the Cochrane Health Care for Older Peoples Field : a gateway to Cochrane evidence and more for the management of older people's care and rehabilitation; free with registration

Epistemonikos managed by members of the Evidence-Based Medicine Unit, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile and other collaborators is "a multilingual, collaborative and free database of health evidence"; free.

Essential Evidence Plus from Wiley : "a powerful resource packed with content, tools, calculators and alerts for clinicians who deliver first-contact care"; fee-based

Evidence Aid from Cochrane "providing resources for decision-makers before, during and after disasters and other humanitarian emergencies"; free

Evidence Updates (formerly BMJ Updates) from the BMJ Evidence Centre : systematic reviews; PLUS ratings used to help select content; free with registration 

Harrison's Practice: answers on demand from McGraw-Hill : "Point-of-Care Diagnosis and Treatment Information - Delivered to Your Desktop or Mobile Device"

health-evidence.ca : online registry of systematic reviews on the effectiveness of public health and health promotion interventions; free with registration

Health Systems Evidence from McMaster Health Forum : "a repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems"; free

JAMAevidence Using Evidence to Improve Care from McGraw-Hill : portal to evidence summaries and decision-making tools; for medical professionals; fee-based

National Guidelines Clearinghouse from the US Dept of Health & Human Services : clinical practice guidelines; free

NHS Evidence from the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) : meta-search portal for evidence, guidance and government policy data; for medical professionals; free

nursing+ Best Evidence for Nursing Care from McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit : systematic reviews; PLUS ratings used to help select content; free with registration

OBESITY+ Online best evidence service in tackling obesity from McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit : systematic reviews; PLUS ratings used to help select content; free with registration 

OTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) : systematic reviews and RCTs; free  

PDQ-Evidence for Informed Health Policymaking provides access to systematic reviews of health systems evidence; put together by a team including members of the Epistemonikos Project, the Norwegian Knowledge Centre for the Health Services and Cochrane Effective Practice and Organisation of Care (EPOC); free

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database from the Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP) : trials, reviews and guidelines; for medical professionals; free

Physiotherapy Choices from the Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP) : trials, reviews and guidelines; for patients; free

PIER: The Physicians' Information and Education Resource from the American College of Physicians : summaries of evidence; PLUS ratings used to help select content; for ACP members only 

PubMed Clinical Queries : evidence-based searching in Medline; free 

Quality, Innovation, Productivity and Prevention (QIPP) from NHS Evidence : a collection of quality and productivity case studies and evidence summaries organised around topic areas; for medical professionals; free

Rehab+ from McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit : systematic reviews; PLUS ratings used to help select content; free with registration

Special Collections from The Cochrane Library from Wiley : thematic collections of evidence on topics such as tobacco addition, breast cancer, and more; free

Therapeutics Initiative (TI) Evidence-Based Drug Therapy from The University of British Columbia : drug assessments and therapeutics newsletters; for medical professionals; free with registration

Trip Database : clinical meta-search tool; for medical professionals; free

UpToDate from Wolters Kluwer Health : summaries of evidence; for medical professionals; fee-based

 

For a useful overview of medical evidence portals online, see also:
Where's the best evidence? Free and fee-based medical evidence on the web (2010) by Dean Giustini, UBC Biomedical Branch Librarian

For more online resources, see also Social media resources.


This list does not aim to be comprehensive, but it is updated regularly. Suggestions and feedback are welcome at techsupport@cochrane.org.

Updated on: January 5, 2015, 9:40

Comments for improvement or correction are welcome.
Email: web@cochrane.org